It’s String Quartet Month @ The Music Library!

March 10th, 2014 § 0 comments § permalink

Based on the old adage, ‘In like a Lion, Out like a Lamb’, it might be supposed that the Music Library would feature an exhibit on pastoral music, or regale you with sacred Masses in March. However, we always aim to present new ideas, and our Music Librarian, David Gilbert , with help from the Hugo Davise Fund for Contemporary Music, has prepared a wonderful celebration of the 20th-century string quartet this month.

Jacaranda Concert featuring the Lyris Quartet

On Saturday, March 8 @ 8pm, the Lyris Quartet, in conjunction with Jacaranda: Music at the Edge will perform Continental Harmony, a concert featuring:

Charles Ives: String Quartet No. 2

Ben Johnston: String Quartet No. 4

Philip Glass: String Quartet No. 5

Erich Korngold: String Quartet No. 3

The concert will be held in Schoenberg Hall and admission is free.

As an added bonus to the concert, our Music Librarian and the Music Library Intern, Joy Doan, have prepared an exhibit that features the scores of Ives, Johnston, Glass and Korngold.

20th-century String quartet

20th-century String quartet








Kronos Quartet 40th Anniversary Celebration

The Kronos Quartet started in 1973 and has since become one of the most well-renowned string quartets of the 20th-century. As part of their 40th Anniversary Celebration, there are a series of events featuring the Kronos Quartet at UCLA.

The Music Library will feature a Q&A with the Kronos Quartet on Wednesday, March 12 from 4-5:30pm. Seating is limited, and a reservation is required. Please email David Gilbert for RSVP availability.

On Friday, March 14 and Saturday, March 15 they will be performing at Royce Hall. The program will include:

Krzysztof Penderecki: Quartetto per archi
John Oswald: Spectre
Philip Glass (arr. Michael Riesman): Orion: China
Alter Yechiel Karniol (arr. Judith Berkson): Sim Sholom
Richard Wagner (arr. Aleksandra Vrebalov): Prelude from Tristan und Isolde
Nels Cline: Views from Here to the Heavens

George Crumb: Black Angels

On Friday, March 14, you can sit in on an open rehearsal of the concert program from 11am-3pm.

Our current exhibit, compiled by David Gilbert, features the score of Black Angels, as well as some of the key recordings of the Kronos Quartet. This exhibit and our Music Librarian will also be available at the concerts (March 14-15) to answer questions about the Kronos Quartet and the UCLA Library Collections.

We hope that you enjoy String Quartet month!